top of page

A New Practice

I’ve been in a little bit of a rut lately in my yoga practice. My weeks are becoming very routine – which I’m not complaining about, I’m a total creature of habit and routine suits me. But my yoga practice needs spiced up. I’ve morphed into only practicing what I teach, which is mostly Level 1 / gentle flow classes. While these are nice movements for my body, I’ve been craving something more. I feel like I do the same poses in every class, just in a different order. Any other teachers get like that?!

So this week, I set aside some time to go to an Intro to Ashtanga class. I have always been curious about Ashtanga because it has a pretty religious following but not many studios offer it on the reg. I am and always have been a Vinyasa Flow kind of girl and have never really gotten into set sequence practices (lookin’ at you, Bikram.) The class I took this week was by no means an Ashtanga practice because it was very slow and very broken down by pose but I got to experience the practice. There was no music and the teacher’s voice was so soft and beautiful. It was completely different than any other class I’ve ever been to and I was so tuned in to my body and the practice.

I couldn’t help but do many poses with my eyes closed. It was like a full on 1 hour moving meditation. What was that?! My body was feeling the effects of that practice all day and my mind was so alert. And the craziest part? I was SO SORE the next day. I felt like I got an amazing workout, a spiritual meditation experience, and so. Much. Clarity.

Vinyasa will still be my jam but I will most definitely be back. Maybe a few more intros to ashtanga before trying the real thing. Because even yoga teachers get intimidated by being the new kid in class. I say all this for no other reason than encouragement. If you’re bored in your practice, go try a different class. If you’ve never tried a certain practice, go anyway. Don’t be intimidated. Or do but embrace it! The yoga is the yoga in every single class. It’s accepting and it’s good. It’s welcoming and it’s empowering.

Feeling super grateful for my practice and all the practices I haven’t done yet. Namaste, friends.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page